A visit to the allotment with my brother David

My brother David is over from the UK and I took him with me to the allotment this morning. He bought his camera along and snapped away.

My first sweet potato of the season. It’s a beauty. (We had it with dinner this evening, roasted in the oven.)

DSCN2758

Then I picked a lovely fresh cos lettuce. Time for David to get out his zoom lens (the old show-off)

DSCN2793

Then we took our morning’s pickings over to the communal sink and he took this shot of the harvest – a bucket full of sweet potato, cos lettuce and a few rocket leaves. The little white choko is from the share table, it had been abandoned and needed a good home.

DSCN0428

Finally David captured this lovely shot of a flower on my allotment which I planted there to encourage the good insects and bees.

DSCN2779

Happy gardening.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 19:58:14

    Wow! That’s a BIG sweet potato! Say hello to David and his wife for me…I got an email from them a while back but couldn’t reply as it was a ‘no reply’ blog. I hope they have a wonderful holiday as you show off this part of the world 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 20:13:24

      Hi Maria. David and Lorraine have been over here for two weeks now and it’s wonderful to have them staying with me. I will pass on your best wishes to them both. We have been talking about your blog over the last few days because we have just booked the boat trip from Brisbane to the Gold Coast you first introduced us to on your blog. We are doing the trip on Sunday next. The boat only goes twice this month due to the tides so we are lucky to get a trip while they are here.

      Reply

  2. Deb
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 20:34:33

    If I could grown a sweet potato a quarter of that size I would be pretty proud! I am experimenting with them here in Tasmania. The vines look healthy so I am living in hope.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 05:23:53

      Hi Deb. I was pretty surprised when I dug it up. I couldn’t resist posting another photo today of an even bigger one I dug up – I had a dickens of a job just getting it out of the ground. The thing about sweet potatoes I have found is that you just don’t know what you’ve got until you start digging. It’s like digging for gold.
      I do wish you luck with your own sweet potatoes down in Tassie. I have to tell you that mine thrived on neglect. I just stuck three of them into the ground at the end of last year and left them over the summer when it was too hot for me to work in the allotment.

      Reply

  3. Anna B
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 23:42:24

    I just love seeing pictures of you with your veg because you look so happy! Really makes me smile too 🙂 That sweet potato is awesome!!!! Lovely photos all round 🙂 Hope you have a brilliant time with your brother.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 05:33:25

      Hi Anna B. Thank you for your kind words. It was such fun to dig out that specimen I couldn’t help grinning. and I couldn’t resist posting a photo of an even bigger, uglier one today. ( I really must stop it!)
      It is great to have my brother and sister-in-law over from the UK. David spent time with me at the allotment showing me how to use my new camera. I’m hoping my veggie photographs improve with his help.

      Reply

  4. narf77
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 04:23:31

    Welcome David and Lorraine :). That sweet potato is HUGE Jean! I adore them. I am attempting to beat off the native animals with a stick and protect a sweet potato that I grew from a slip that had started to sprout (a forgotten sweet potato in the pantry 😉 ). EVERYTHING loves it! The wallabies scarf it from the side of the compost bin I planted it in and the insect critters are nibbling away at it faster than it can grow and it grows FAST! I figured that if you can grow kumara in N.Z. you can grow them in Tassie! Wish me luck. I am going to need it! 😉

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 05:38:06

      Dear Fran. You do have trouble with those critters don’t you.
      And Fran, to my shame, I’ve just posted another photo of an even bigger and uglier tuber. I am going to lose readers if I don’t stop.
      But digging in the dirt (sorry, growing medium ha ha) was like panning for gold and is going to be addictive I just know it.
      I noticed you used the word kumara. Rolls off the tongue and much prettier than sweet potato. I was only saying that to my sister-in-law over dinner last night.
      Good luck with your sweet potato.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Apr 09, 2013 @ 06:03:18

        If it was anything like my eagerly awaited potato harvest that amounted to a thimbleful I might be in for a lean kumara year 😉

  5. livingsimplyfree
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 11:14:14

    I’m curious, you said you had your sweet potato for dinner…I heard you have to store them awhile before you can eat them? Is there a difference in taste if they are eaten right away?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

