Green Journey

You might want to check out the Green Journey website. Full of interesting information about living a more sustainable life. One of the things they do each month is to share the experiences of people who are creating positive change through small steps at home and/or at work.

I am the feature story this month.  Here is the link

The allotment is still a bit sparse at the moment but I do like to finish with a photo so here is a pic of one day’s harvest from my allotment last season. Hopefully it won’t be too long before I’m picking a great variety of veggies again!

Image

Happy gardening.

 

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 21:50:38

    The harvest looks great – can’t wait to see pretty colours coming from our garden again!

    Reply

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 22:06:53

    Great article at the Green Journey – I learned some background about your adventures that I didn’t know.

    Reply

  3. narf77
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 04:59:38

    Those radishes look wonderful Jean, I bet they tasted delicious :). Have you ever tried them the french way, thinnly sliced on thick buttered sourdough bread with lots of salt and pepper? YUM! I never got round to planting radishes but I should have. Next year I want to grow some of those large black ones as I can both eat them raw and cook them…the best of both worlds :). I love reading about your “winter” food adventures as you grow what we grow in summer here. You wouldn’t think that we were living in the same country would you? ;). Have a great sunday and kudos on your Green Journey article. My mum (Margarets story) was featured in the same journal posthumously and it was a great epitaph to her life

    Reply

  4. notjustgreenfingers
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 06:03:48

    Really enjoyd reading your story Jean, it was really interesting about how you learnt to garden in Austraiia

    Reply

  5. livingsimplyfree
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 12:49:27

    I enjoyed your article, I’m sorry you can’t grow tomatoes there, that’s one thing most people around here start with. My failure has been carrots and watermelons, I’m still going to try again.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 19:27:57

      Thank you Lois. Pleased you enjoyed the article. Lots of folk have tried to grow tomatoes at the farm and they get stung. I know you can buy fruit fly traps, and bag them too, but it’s a struggle. But I’ve been very happy with my carrots since I added sand to the soil to lighten it. I havn’t tried watermelons as I only have a small area of land.

      Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 06:07:38

      Lois I add horticultural sand to the soil to lighten it when I’m planting carrots which I read helps when you have heavier soil. They don’t have to struggle so much to form nice shaped carrots, don’t develop too many ‘legs’. I was very happy with the results last time. If I had the patience I would actually use a gardening sieve and sift the soil because if they hit any obstruction they are likely to fork. I love the challenge of growing carrots. They keep me on my toes. Ha ha.

      Reply

  6. MrsYub
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 16:29:12

    Congrats on the article! I am so happy for you. I enjoyed reading it 🙂

    Reply

  7. adamleone01
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 19:25:50

    Hi Jean! Hope you’re well down under! Sorry I haven’t blogged as much as I hoped! Check out all my latest garden goings-on here: http://www.carrottopsallotment.com/the-greenhouse-april-2013/ (The weather here hasn’t helped! ) All the best!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 20:05:56

      Thank you for visiting, all is well down under thanks. We are getting over the heat of the summer and I’m getting ready for my best growing season during these cooler winter months. I’ll check out your latest goings-on at carrot tops allotment.

      Reply

  8. Anna B
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 00:02:14

    I absolutely love this Jean!! Right up my street and I love your interview. Your words of wisdom are spot on. Fantastic! 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 05:59:20

      Dear Anna B, thank you for your kind words. I’m so pleased you enjoyed the interview. I have to say I enjoyed sitting down to write it, thinking over the last three years and what my gardening means to me. I couldn’t imagine life without it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

