Sweetcorn silk

I was at the allotment this morning checking out the sweetcorn.  The cobs are set and growing nicely. But this is what really caught my eye. The sun was shining on the silk. I hope that I have been able to capture some of the beauty with my humble camera

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robert Timmins
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 21:42:52

    Jean. You are a true pioneer!
    Your DNA turned a third of the world pink and the rest pink with envy.
    I won’t be able to stroll along the veggie aisle without thinking of you
    Keep up the good work
    Robert
    PS I’m now a follower

    Reply

  2. Tatiana
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 13:35:48

    Hi Jean, today I took I took a left turn and guess where I ended up?????? Did you guess your allotment? I found your plots from the fabulous photos– the crazy tomato,the beans and your corn, tall and husky and silky and what about that lemon grass, you could feed a village. Made me feel a little, dare I say green 🙂
    What a beautiful spot you have chosen to grow all those lovely veggies and how well they are all doing – really well done.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:55:15

      Sorry I missed you at my allotment today Tatiana, I took my grandson to the movies. Thank you for your lovely comment. It’s so peaceful at Beelarong Farm it is a lovely place to grow my veggies. The lemon grass does love that spot up the corner. Help yourself any time. I picked some yesterday and it’s such a strong plant I had to hack a piece off. Went there yesterday morning to do some planting of your seeds and bulbs but with the heat, I reckon it must have been 30 degrees, I decided to leave it for a couple of days. Might be a bit cooler later in the week. So I just watered, and took my photos of the sweet corn silks.

      Reply

  3. Tatiana
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 13:43:17

    … And please don’t tell anyone about my midget corn – I’ll have people peering over my fence :/

    Reply

  4. Patangan Stickman
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 15:29:02

    Do you actively spread the pollen yourself or do you let nature do it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

