Feel the serenity – a weekend at “The Castle”

I spent a weekend at The Castle and really did ‘feel the serenity’ (with apologies to anyone who has never seen the Australian movie).

I stayed with  Fairy and the Duke from Organised Castle blog who are also B&B (Bed and Breakfast) hosts.  Their home, “The Castle” is a small rural acreage near Maleny, in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. If you click on the link to the blog you can find details about their accommodation.  I received a warm welcome and they made me very comfortable. If you decide to take the breakfast/dinner package you will enjoy lovely home cooking with a lot of the produce taken fresh from their own garden and eggs from their chickens.  I’ll be back!

Maleny is situated in the heart of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland of Queensland. Approximately 100 kilometres north of Brisbane. Rolling green hills and sub-tropical climate help make this an area that attracts tourists from all over the world.

My first stop in Maleny was a gem of a bookshop. Rosetta Books.

Bookshop

Rosetta books in Maleny

It was a cold day, it is the middle of winter after all, and as I walked in the door I was greeted with lovely warm air and the tantalising smell of freshly brewed coffee. This is their beautiful brass coffee machine. I could go no further without a cappuccino.

Beautiful coffee machine

Beautiful coffee machine

I sat at the big rustic community table and sipped my coffee before checking out the rest of this beautiful bookshop. The array of books was SO tempting and the seated areas around the shop encouraged one to linger. They had a lovely children’s area at the back of the shop – makes you want to be a kid again.

Then it was time to take a stroll up the main road and discover what else Maleny had to offer. What I like about Maleny is the fact that as well as being a tourist town it’s a thriving rural community. Walk down the high street and there is a mixture of interesting boutique shops that will draw you in; their IGA is the best I’ve ever been in with some lovely rustic dark wood shop fittings; there’s a fabulous ice cream and cheese shop where you can also get a coffee or a bite to eat and plenty of places to buy your organic produce.

After lunch over a bowl of hot soup I took the car on a scenic drive along the Blackall Ranges via the pretty town of Montville, through Flaxton which is a tiny village where you will find lovely arts and crafts and excellent devonshire teas and on to Mapleton where I stopped for a nice cup of tea and views over the beautiful rolling hills as far as the Sunshine coast.

From Mapleton I took the Obi Obi road as far as Mapleton Falls National Park and this is where I gave the camera a bit of a workout.  It was so beautiful standing there on the lookout. I cannot really capture the peace and serenity of the place, but I’ll have a go.

IMG_3141

IMG_3143

IMG_3145

IMG_3146

I had a lovely weekend, and on the drive back to Brisbane on Monday morning I visited the strawberry farms and stalls selling local produce.  I topped the boot up with pineapples, strawberries, local honey and a great big cabbage I’ll be turning into sauerkraut.

Today it’s back to the allotment as my daughter-in-law has given me some seed potatoes. They are called Royal Blue and have purple skin and golden yellow flesh. Sounds exotic enough for my little allotment!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 08:17:27

    What a wonderful weekend you had! I love all your photos of this beautiful area and I will certainly check out that B&B! I don’t think I have ever been into that bookstore either but your description certainly has piqued my interest.
    In another amazing coincidence, I decided the other day that I would plant potatoes in one of my dug over garden beds…I have so many seed potatoes still left after planting the first crop last month! The variety that your DiL gave you, sound very exotic…and yummy!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 09:55:16

      I was thinking about you when I wrote the blog post this morning Maria because I know you would have covered the journey itself with lots of photographs giving folk a real good taste of the beauty of the drive. Some stunning views as I drove along but as I was the only person in the car I needed to keep my hands on the wheel and my eyes on the road ahead – with just a shifty look to the right and left as I drove along the ridge.
      I knew Fairy and the Duke had decided to become B&B hosts as I have been reading her Organised Castle blog for a while. They are into simple living and sustainability so I knew I would like it at The Castle as they echo my own views on life.
      Don’t miss Rosetta Books next time you visit Maleny. I think it would be a good place to buy Christmas presents for special people in your life because they have some beauties there, and a bit different.
      I’ll be planting the seed potatoes over at the allotment this afternoon. What variety are you growing Maria?

      Reply

      • Maria
        Jul 30, 2013 @ 23:44:39

        Jean, I planted Pontiacs and Desirees. I grew Pontiacs 2 seasons ago and got a bumper crop. Last year I planted some that I bought at an open day at Bellos…but I didn’t get much of a yield at all…they were a golden skinned variety but I’ve forgotten the name.

  2. cathyandchucky
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 10:34:06

    Beautiful photos Jean. I would also have ensconced myself in that lovely bookshop. I love books 😀 Royal blue potatoes are my favorites for wedges and roast potatoes. Love their dense texture.

    Reply

  3. livingsimplyfree
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 13:50:51

    What lovely pictures I can never drive by scenery like that. A book store called Rosetta books would draw me in as well. I don’t like coffee but what a gorgeous coffee maker that is. Sounds like you had a wonderful time p.s. can I have a snack out of your boot? 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 19:15:44

      Dear Lois, the scenery in the Sunshine Coast hinterland is beautiful. It’s one of my favourite places to go for a weekend away from the city as I can get there in just over an hour. I am still working my way through the fresh produce I bought. If you lived closer I would happily share with you.

      I grow my own veggies as you know but I still cannot drive past a store selling local produce, or Farmers Markets. I made jam out of the strawberries today, and I’ll be chopping and freezing the pineapples. The area is famous for pineapples and is home to the “Big Pineapple”. You should have seen the size of the cabbage, like a football. I bought it because I don’t tend to have success with cabbages. Too many caterpillars want to share with me.

      Reply

  4. MrsYub
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 18:02:50

    It does, indeed, look lovely! Just like everyone has said. The scenery shots are breathtaking, and the bookshop just couldn’t have been overlooked!
    I was trying to think of something unique and witty and DIFFERENT to say, but I got nothing :S

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 19:23:06

      You don’t need to say anything different Mrs Yub – it’s always lovely to receive a comment from you. Thank you for your kind words about the pics I took from the lookout. I had left my camera back at The Castle so I snapped away with the camera on my phone and wasn’t sure just how well it would cope with the scenery shots so I’m happy the way it turned out.

      Reply

      • MrsYub
        Jul 30, 2013 @ 21:47:02

        That’s your phone?! Wow! I wouldn’t have guessed. You are doubly blessed then. First with something worth snapping and second something so worthy of snapping it with!

  5. Fairy
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 18:13:41

    Thanks for the glowing review, Jean. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to host a kindred spirit.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 19:29:32

      The review is well deserved Fairy. Thank you for a lovely weekend.
      I am still laughing about the thread you read out to me!

      Reply

  6. Natalie Cleary
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 19:18:16

    looks like a wonderful weekend away! Loved the old coffee machine.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 19:31:17

      Thank you for your comment Natalie.
      Fancy finding such a beautiful coffee machine in a book store. And somebody must take great pride in polishing it. You could see your face in it.

      Reply

  7. narf77
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 04:36:12

    That brass coffee pot has a twin in Launceston! I LOVED this post Jean, full to the brim of gorgeous sunny holiday bliss and a real antidote for the mire of days stretching into endless days where I have been chained in slavetude to this wretched PC. Lubbly Jubbly 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Aug 02, 2013 @ 06:17:07

      Thank you Fran. Pleased you enjoyed the post. We had the odd shower but it was a beautiful day. I just had to photograph the coffee pot, now I know where it’s twin is! I read that you have been chained to the PC, without your resident IT Department. Hope you are freed up a bit more now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

