Make the most of your harvest, make marmalade

I mentioned on a previous post that I was lucky enough last week to be given a bag of chokos by John at the farm, together with a lovely supply of fresh limes from the food forrest.

I have used them both with gay abandon during the past week but decided I needed to put the surplus to good use while they were still nice and fresh.

They say if life give you lemons “make lemonade”.

In my case, if life gives you chokos and limes “make marmalade”

Here is the result.

Marmalade

Marmalade

On the left is the choko. lime and ginger jam but it tastes more like marmalade due to the lime and ginger. I’ll make sure John gets a jar of choko jam when I go over to the farm this morning. John’s wife Heather is a big choko pickle maker – she might like to try this jam and add it to her repertoire.

Here is the link to the recipe from Lisa Loveday’s website. When I first found this recipe there was a photo too but it looks like she just has a print friendly recipe now.

On the right is the orange and lime marmalade I made using my friend Wendy’s recipe, just tweaking the choice of fruit. So thank you Wendy. Here is the recipe.

WENDY’S MARMALADE

4 oranges

2 lemons (I used two limes instead)

1.25 litres (5 cups) water

1.5 kg (3lb) sugar

Wash fruit and cut in half lengthwise.  Cut each half into thin slices.  Remove seeds.  Put fruit into bowl and add water, let stand overnight.  Next day put fruit and water into large saucepan, Bring to boil, reduce heat.  Cover and simmer 40 minutes.  Put sugar into baking dish and warm in moderate oven for 7 minutes.  Add to fruit mixture and stir until sugar is dissolved.  Bring to boil and boil, uncovered, for 45 to 55 minutes.  Stir frequently.  After 40 minutes start testing for set.  Makes approx. 1.75 litres.

(Wendy says it isn’t essential for the fruit to be exactly as specified.  You can substitute other citrus, such as grapefruit, cumquats or mandarins for part of the fruit if you wish, so long as the approximate volume of fruit is about the same.  The fruit for the best marmalade is cut into fine strips and you’ll need patience.  As a lot of juice is produced, a chopping board with grooves around the edge is useful to catch it.)

Happy preserving.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 07:55:22

    It all sounds delicious, Jean!

    Reply

  2. JonesGardenBlog
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 08:03:23

    I honestly didn’t know what a choko was. I had to look it up. Very interesting! I always like learning about different fruits and veggies around the world.

    Reply

  3. zaczarowaneogrody
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 14:25:58

    They must be delicious.
    I’m afraid that I can’t use citruses with the crust. Citruses don’t grow in my country. In the market they are sold sprayed chemically.

    Reply

  4. narf77
    Jul 04, 2013 @ 04:30:20

    Well done for spreading the word Jean :). I missed the broadcast, Steve and I were animating coffee cups and Babooshka dolls and time got away from us. Today we animate windmills. I might even try animating my sprouting choko! Marmalade is a great way to use the “carrying” capabilities of chokos. Mum did that a lot. She would use them all up in the back of recipes where they could fill the bulk “benign” part and carry the flavour of the star of the recipe. Hopefully my choko baby will produce a copious quantity of offspring and I can use them in this wonderful recipe 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 04, 2013 @ 16:10:11

      Hi Fran. The interview can be heard via a podcast on the Radio 4BC site. I’ll see if I can link to it.
      Every girl needs a ‘Steve’ – where is he when I need him! (If my son Steve reads this he might think I mean him but I mean Frannie’s Steve who seems to be a computer whizz.)
      Since I have been trying to whip up a choko lovers movement these past few weeks I have got people chatting about it at the farm and on the blog and it seems that everybody had a Nanna or a Mum who ‘hid’ chokos in just about everything.
      I love my blog because I can rabbit on and get as excited about vegetables as I like, ad infinitum, and there always seems to be a like-minded soul out there who is on my wave length.
      Non-gardening friends, lovely though they are, can go a bit glassy eyed especially as I go through my ‘choko phase’ a bit like Picasso’s Blue Period but without the angst.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Jul 04, 2013 @ 21:35:09

        I am laughing Jean. I can see you waxing lyrical about choko’s and your friends glazing over and starting to snore :). I promise you I wouldn’t glaze over unless it was glazing some of those choko slices. I wonder if they would candy well? Might be an interesting approach to too many chokos although with all of your recipes I don’t think the world has enough chokos :). Steve is a genius. He has been guiding me through animating windmills today and yesterday we animated Babooshka dolls. Lots of fun (when we aren’t hopping about yelling because something isn’t working 😉 )

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Jul 05, 2013 @ 05:46:18

        Your animations are so clever. Hope you post more of them on your blog.

      • narf77
        Jul 05, 2013 @ 06:03:26

        They are getting more technical now so they are getting bigger and WordPress are funny about letting we “free bloggers” do ANYTHING fun. Steve can post them to Youtube now as we have an account so we might do it that way :).

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Jul 05, 2013 @ 06:12:45

        Oh I see. I mentioned the animation because Steve had posted one while you were at your daughter’s and it was great fun. Don’t want to upset wordpress. Maybe Youtube is the go.

      • narf77
        Jul 05, 2013 @ 06:14:43

        I think he posted it via the youtube link Jean so maybe we have found an out! 😉

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Jul 05, 2013 @ 06:16:20

        Ah. Now that would make sense Fran. I remember I had to click on it.

      • narf77
        Jul 05, 2013 @ 06:16:55

        🙂 Technology isn’t ALL terrifying 🙂

  5. MrsYub
    Jul 04, 2013 @ 10:25:22

    I wish my cutting boards had grooves 😦 I’m always VURRYY sticky at the end of making anything fruity, lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

