Playing “tourist” around Brisbane

Even in retirement it’s good sometimes to have a day off.

So earlier this week I decided to play tourist in my home town of Brisbane.

It was a lovely dry sunny morning when I strolled the couple of blocks down to the river to catch a City Cat to take me up the Brisbane river, past New Farm Park and under the Story Bridge into town.

City Cat coming in to dock

City Cat coming in to dock

IMG_2640

The City Cat just docking ready for my trip up the river

IMG_2646

I took my morning cup of coffee under one of the yellow umbrellas.
Dirty work, but somebody has to do it!

IMG_2650

Looking back towards the Story bridge I had just cruised under – this is the view from the cafe where I took my morning coffee break

IMG_2653

Still sitting at the coffee shop this is the view in the other direction. The paddle steamer is the “Kookaburra Queen” which takes cruises up the Brisbane River.

IMG_2660

Time to get some exercise and I took a good walk along the river bank heading towards the City Botanic Gardens. You can just see the beginning of the mangroves growing out of the sandy bank.

IMG_2661

Taking the path through the mangroves. So peaceful and miles from anywhere you would think. Wrong. The city is just a few hundred metres away across the park.

IMG_2675

Leaving the river behind I strolled into the City Botanic Gardens and you can see the city in the distance. The weather was so kind I saw a fellow sunning himself with his shirt off. And it’s winter here.

IMG_2679

After emigrating 30 odd years ago Brisbane still feels exotic to me. You just have to look at the flora

IMG_2687

A pretty splash of colour

IMG_2692

Almost in the city now I came across this pretty fountain and the ducks

IMG_2694

I was joined by this cheeky bird

IMG_2698

This rather lovely panel is on the city-side entrance to the gardens

IMG_2699

And this rather grand plaque is on the main gates at the entrance

IMG_2700

Heading into town from the gardens I passed a row of city bikes. You can rent these to get about.

IMG_2705

Then onto our beautifully refurbished city hall where I attended a (free) lunchtime concert put on by Brisbane City Council. I enjoyed a lovely hour of jazz.

IMG_2706

Outside the city hall after I left the concert office workers were sitting around having lunch

IMG_2708

Walking through town I came to Anzac Square which was very pretty in the sunshine and lots of city workers enjoying a respite from their labours

IMG_2710

Anzac Square has an avenue of these amazing Boab trees, sometimes called bottle trees

I couldn’t stop walking once I started and ended up walking most of the way home, through the city and only caught the bus when I reached Fortitude Valley.

A lovely day out.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. narf77
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 07:30:48

    I think Brissie should pay you for promoting their city so well Jean :). Now I want to visit! It’s raining and cold and like the howling tundra’s in Siberia here so I guess I can dream 😉

    Reply

  2. MrsYub
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 11:29:25

    I could smell the water and hear the traffic as I walked through your photo’s, Jean. My Mum says that it used to be for many people the town they know the least was the one they lived in. We know our immediate town pretty well, and the surrounding streets, but only because I enjoy walking, but the roads and towns beyond us we barely know at all!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jun 07, 2013 @ 05:01:47

      Pleased that you enjoyed this post Mrs Yub. I think your Mum is right, it’s easy to take our surroundings for granted. Brisbane has grown so much since I first emigrated over 30 years ago. Now the city is full of high rise buildings but as you walk around town there are still many beautiful old buildings in the colonial style and some lovely sandstone buildings that look as if they were built in the 1920’s with beautiful proportions.

      Reply

  3. christiok
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 13:01:25

    What a lovely tour! That Boab tree is very exotic, and I loved the City Cat. I live in the Seattle, Washington USA area around Puget Sound and we have lots of ferries, both car and passenger-only. It adds a lot to a city. Brisbane looks lovely! 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jun 07, 2013 @ 05:04:56

      Brisbane was looking particularly beautiful that day. I am fortunate to live just a couple of blocks from the river so love to use that form of transport. Brisbane City Council have increased the numbers of City Cats to take us up and down the river. They go quite regularly so you never have to wait for long, they are used by locals and tourists alike. We also have the cross-river ferries too. It’s lovely living on the river.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

