Allotment update and workshops at Beelarong Community Farm

I have been a bit lazy with my blogging recently but there is plenty going on over at the allotment. Our best growing season in Brisbane starts in April as we have fewer bugs invading our vegetables and the sun is not so fierce. We are still in autumn here but with the drop in temperature you would think it was winter already. Dry and warm during the day but with the temperature down to 11c degrees tonight.

I have already harvested generous amounts of silver beet, and enough sweet potato, beetroot, rocket and lettuce from my allotment this season to keep me happy. I picked a good handful of curly parsley today to make a parsley sauce to go with fish for tea tonight. I just love that aroma when you chop freshly picked parsley.

I’ll take the camera over to the allotment tomorrow so I can post a few pics of my veggie plot. I meant to today but once I finished watering it was time for me to hot-foot it over to the covered area for a workshop.

I have mentioned before that we  hold workshops over at Beelarong Community Farm where I have my allotment. Today we held one of our regular Cob Oven Cooking workshops.

Here are a few pics I took this morning. The first thing we did was to take a walk around the farm to collect vegetables and herbs for pizza toppings and root veggies and tomatoes to roast in trays, topped with a selection of freshly picked herbs and with a big glug of olive oil.  Dessert was baked apples. Delicious.

Loading the cob oven

Peter ready to load up the cob oven

Below, tomatoes, turnip, squash, aubergine, choko and herbs all picked from the community garden – food miles just a few metres.

Roasted vegies ready for the cob oven

Veggies ready for roasting in the cob oven

Another tray of delicious 'home grown' veggies

All grown in the community garden and tended by volunteers

Craig had prepared a yeast bread mix overnight. We each took a small handful of dough to prepare our own individual pizzas. The cheese and salami supplemented the veggies and herbs and we picked some of those tiny really hot chillies for the folk with an asbestos mouth.

An individual pizza ready for the oven

An individual pizza ready for the oven

The cob oven smoking and ready to go.

The cob oven smoking and ready to go

The cob oven smoking and ready to go

Another workshop next Saturday

I have cut and pasted  these details below from the Beelarong website.

Preserving your fruit and/or vegetables

When: Sat, 1 June, 09:30 – 11:30
Where: Beelarong Community Farm, cnr of York and Beverley Streets, Morningside.
Description: Come to the farm and learn how to preserve your fruit and/or vegetables. Depending on what is in season you’ll be collecting the produce from the farm to make either chutney, jam or relish. Cost is $4. To book please call Beelarong Community Farm on 0401 168 657
Happy gardening.
15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
    May 26, 2013 @ 02:25:18

    The pizza party looks like fun. I have oven envy. And I’m definitely going to try oven roasted garden veg as a pizza topping this summer. I love that idea.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      May 26, 2013 @ 05:29:20

      Heidi it was fun and these cob (or clay) ovens are worth building. The fellows built this one some years ago and it’s been a great success. If you google “making a cob pizza oven” all sorts of information comes up.
      I’m going to try the oven roasted veg at home too. I like the way Craig had us cut them up really small and mix them together with the herbs. A good combination of flavours. The slug of olive oil helped too.

      Reply

  2. narf77
    May 26, 2013 @ 05:27:58

    I was starting to think that you had retired from blogging! Glad to see you are busy with real life instead :). I agree with Heidi, that oven is SO delicious! I needs me one of those! “STEEEEEEVE!” Maybe I should settle for a homemade ferocement water tank I found in a borrowed Issue 32 of Grassroots magazine instead? 😉 I love that you are surrounded and included by an amazing community up there Jean 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      May 26, 2013 @ 05:38:00

      Good morning Fran. I sort of got out of the blogging for a while for a number of reasons. I went on holiday to Norfolk Island, then my family came over from the UK for a month, as well as the fact that for a while there was not a lot happening on the allotment. Anyway I’ve broken the drought now so to speak. Lovely to hear from you. Good luck with the water tank! When Steve has finished that ask him to make you a cob (or clay) oven. Get some mates over and bond while they throw the mud around. I am sure they would like that. You supply the beers.
      My laziness has also extended to blog reading (goodness me you would think I’d left the planet). So now I’m going visiting your blog. I’ll just grab the reading glasses …….

      Reply

      • narf77
        May 26, 2013 @ 06:02:15

        You might need more than reading glasses for my last post Jean…it is a bit of an aberation! 😉 Lovely to see you back in the blogosphere and I hope you had a fantastic time on Norfolk Island and spending time with your family 🙂

  3. livingsimplyfree
    May 26, 2013 @ 06:33:41

    Jean, good to hear from you again. I too am finding less time to be online with all the work outdoors.

    I absolutely love you cob oven! I’m anxiously waiting for our farmers market to reopen and I can buy locally grown food too. our temps have fallen again here, it was close to freezing last night and many of my plants look worse for it. I’m hoping things warm back up soon or I may lose a lot of my garden.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      May 26, 2013 @ 06:49:09

      Hi Lois. I do enjoy blogging, the writing and the comments, but sometimes it just gets away from me. I think I have my mojo (whatever that is!) back now. I do hope the weather is kinder to you, too sad to lose a lot of plants you have nurtured.

      Reply

  4. Tatiana
    May 26, 2013 @ 07:53:09

    Hmmm – I wonder where I can put one of those ovens in my back yard??? Those pizzas look delicious and I know my neighbours would love them. ( You would be invited too Jean)

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      May 26, 2013 @ 07:59:38

      Dear Tatiana. I am sure you can find room for a mud oven in your backyard, you manage to pack more things into your car than anyone else would even consider – so fitting an oven into your backyard would be a piece of cake (or, a slice of pizza in this case). Ha ha.

      Reply

  5. ryllpaul
    May 27, 2013 @ 15:09:32

    Yummy Jean – you have made me feel more comfortable with the winter weather coming – looking forward to doing my veges your way 🙂

    Reply

  6. MrsYub
    May 29, 2013 @ 20:34:43

    Ooooh! Its looking good! My mouth waters at the sight!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      May 30, 2013 @ 05:03:27

      Those trays of veggies do look good don’t they Mrs Yub. And apart from the onions, which do not grow too well in our climate, they were all gathered around the community garden at the farm.

      Reply

      • MrsYub
        May 30, 2013 @ 11:50:29

        You are so lucky! I don’t often aquire fresh stuff I haven’t grown myself! That being said, last week I was given two punnets of spinach seedlings AND when we visited Mum over the weekend I got 5 kilo’s of silverbeet from her garden, so in retrospect I have nothing to complain about at the moment, lol!

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

