Planting season – at last

It has been a quiet few months down at the allotment due to the heat of summer (many days over 30c degrees) and then flooding rains. Until the last few days there has been water sitting around over at the farm and the mosquitoes are breeding like mad. I could show you a picture of the bites on my leg.  Naaah!

Suffice to say those critters are fierce enough to carry off a dog.

Anyway, enough of that. The ground is now drying out and, finally, we are all starting a new planting season over at the allotment and it’s good to see.

I feel as if I’m a bit behind with the planting due to the soggy ground earlier in the month so I took myself over to Bunnings garden centre to gather myself a few seedlings and they are coming along nicely.  Still small but I expect them to be impressive veggies in no time – they are getting the royal treatment with a Seasol (seaweed) feed to get them started and weekly watering with a liquid fertiliser.

Broccoli

Broccoli “Green King”

Silver Beet

Silver Beet

I bought myself a punnet of mixed lettuce seedlings. Here’s one, still tiny but off to a good start.

Lettuce

Lettuce from a mixed punnet

Happy gardening. At last!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. livingsimplyfree
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 07:57:55

    Things are looking good in your garden plot. As for mosquitoes try carrying a spray bottle with regular Listerine, it works wonders, if in the process of spraying any of it gets on a mosquito it kills them, they avoid the area as a result. Just spray the air around you and let it settle.

    Reply

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 09:17:32

    My garden is still under snow.. I’m envious of your lettuce already poking up. I don’t envy the mosquitos though – there are times of year when they should be made the national bird.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Mar 22, 2013 @ 05:45:55

      My family in the UK are experiencing snow this year Heidi. Hopefully your weather will warm up soon and you can get planting again. The days are drying out over here in Brisbane now and the mozzies seem to have died off a bit. But I still spray myself with insect repellant when I go to the allotment. I have just received a hint from Living Simply Free that Listerine will do the job and hopefully without the chemicals. I must try that.

      Reply

  3. Live and Learn-Toss and Turn
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 09:37:16

    I’m glad that you finally were able to work in your garden again and get a few things planted. Good luck with your cool season crops.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Mar 22, 2013 @ 05:47:12

      Thank you for your good wishes. I have rather neglected my blog recently but there has been so little to write about. With the new seasons planting, and my new enthusiasm things should get more interesting down at the allotment. I love going there.

      Reply

  4. MrsYub
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 09:51:13

    Looking good! I am still waiting for my Spring crops to finish, so I haven’t alot of space to start on my Autumn crops yet, but I have the silverbeets that have been going since last year, and have brussel sprouts in.
    I have just planted some mystery Autumn seeds that I gathered last year. They are a mystery because the tags that I had written up and put in with the drying seeds to let me know what they were were eaten by slugs and/or snails, and the seeds look very similar to each other, so I haven’t the foggiest idea what they are, lol!
    Oh, and as a btw, I now stickytape my tags front and back to keep little mogrels from eating them!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Mar 22, 2013 @ 05:51:57

      I am happy with how my new planting is coming along Mrs Yub. I picked my first silver beet of the season this week (only planted the seedlings a few weeks ago) and yesterday I harvested four small sweet potatoes, planted at the tail end of last year, and made oven chips with them. Delicious. It’s great to get back into the gardening again after the summer.
      What a shame about your seed labels. And until you know what they are it’s hard to know how spaced out you need to plant them. Perhaps if you plant them in seed pots to germinate you might recognise them once they are sprouted. Good luck.

      Reply

  5. narf77
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 17:19:01

    Welcome back Jean we missed you :). We finally FINALLY got a good solid day of rain and it looks like it might rain tomorrow! How fitting that it came exactly on the equinox :). Can’t wait to see what you are going to grow over your growing season as we contemplate our very first winter veggie garden, this year is going to be interesting isn’t it 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Mar 22, 2013 @ 06:01:22

      Thank you for your kind words Fran. It has been a bit of a drought blogging wise recently as there was nothing much to write about over at the allotment. We had a summer heatwave followed by cyclonic rain which left us paddling through mud so it’s lovely to see the ground drying out enough to get planting again. The only thing growing in the allotment over the summer are a couple of sweet potatoes I planted at the tail end of last year. I got very excited yesterday when I harvested the first small sweet potatoes. They became exposed when we moved a wooden sleeper between mine and my neighbours allotment and there they sat. These lovely little orange tubers saying ‘eat me, eat me’. So I did. Sweet potato chips for dinner last night.
      I’m delighted to hear that you had some rain at last. I agree with you that this year is going to be interesting, one of the joys of gardening. Wonderful to be growing our own food. And I know that down on your patch of earth in Tassie you have to beat the critters to it if you are going to have anything on your dinner plate. Sending best wishes as you begin your winter garden.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Mar 22, 2013 @ 10:40:55

        I planted a sweet potato vine from a sweet potato that had sprouted after reading your post. No idea what it will do (if it will grow much when it cools down a lot) so far but it is growing maniacally at the moment so it must be happy :). I have been eating a lot of sweet potatoes lately and oven wedged sweet potatoes with chilli and herbs is delicious 🙂

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Mar 25, 2013 @ 14:06:02

        I love oven wedges of sweet potato too Fran. Havn’t tried them with chilli. Sounds good.

  6. notjustgreenfingers
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 06:20:16

    Lovely to see you are able to do some gardening again at your allotment. We have snow here again in the Midlands, UK. I’m looking forward to some warmer weather.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 14:08:18

      Yes I’ve heard all about your snow in the Midlands as my brother and his wife live there and set off this morning in the snow to catch a flight to Australia to spend a few weeks with me. They won’t know themselves when they land in the Brisbane in the morning as we are experiencing a hot spell here – 30c degrees and over during the past few days.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

