I’m eating my freezer ….

New Year’s Resolution …. I’m eating my freezer contents until I see the bottom.

My tiny allotment has been so productive that I have been blanching and freezing veggies, cooking batches of soups, meat and veggie dishes and pasta sauces all using my fresh produce. The result – my small chest freezer is now full to the top.  Silly to go grocery shopping when I already have my own ‘supermarket’ sitting in the garage.

So that’s the freezer sorted.

Now I just have to look at working my way through the produce that I have pickled – red cabbage, beetroot and cucumber.

This abundance has made me think how lucky we gardeners are with our ability to feed ourselves with lovely fresh food despite battles with weather, pest and all manner of critters.

Here are a couple of pics taken during the year.

Destined for the dinner table

Destined for the dinner table

Happy days at the allotment

Sunny morning at the allotment

Happy Gardening.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lyndellmaree
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 07:56:22

    Well my NY resolution is to fill my freezer with produce – I have been inspired by your garden 🙂

    Reply

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 08:00:54

    That’s one of my resolutions too – I need to empty it out so that I can start refilling it in the summer. It’s a fun task, though.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jan 04, 2013 @ 08:10:22

      Dear Heidi. That is exactly how all this started. January 1st and I decided to defrost the freezer and re-pack it so that I knew where everything was. Then I thought “wouldn’t it be just easier to eat it instead?”. I’m looking forward then to re-stocking it next growing season. This food growing is fun, I agree.

      Reply

  3. narf77
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 15:16:22

    I can’t wait for my harvest to be ready so I can START filling up my freezer Jean :).

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 06:36:10

      Hi Fran, I’ve seen your pictures and you veggie plot is going gangbusters. It feels wonderful to have that stash of food in the freezer, but don’t forget (like me) to eat it at some stage !!!

      Reply

      • narf77
        Jan 05, 2013 @ 11:16:30

        As a vegan thats my main munchability in those heavily fortified gardens Jean so I won’t forget :). Steve has been eating salads every night and loving them. I couldn’t get him to eat salad for years and now he is picking it himself and making it for himself and all thanks to our own garden. He had to admit that his U.K. style pickled beetroot was too vinegary and spicy for even him today but next time he will just go with the vinegar and maybe not so many cloves and bayleaves ;). I would just toss in a heap of sugar and render it sweet and sour but he wants to try again…”here possum possum possum…I have some LOVELY pickled beetroot for you!…” 😉

  4. Nigel
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 19:21:38

    All I can say about the last picture is “Very interesting.” I assume that’s the right quote from that Laugh in show.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 06:33:59

      Ha ha Nigel. That takes me back a bit. How do you remember “Laugh In”, you are far too young!
      I loved that program. Goldie Hawn was just a child then, and so gorgeous. But I loved the chap who used to peer through the leaves and say that wonderful line “Verrrrry Interesting”. I am channelling him. (Do you think I’m slipping into the eccentric in my dotage Nigel?)

      Reply

  5. allotment21
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 19:45:37

    I am looking forward to harvesting some veg this year Jean – hope my freezer fills up like yours!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 06:30:08

      I am sure your freezer will fill up just fine. You know what has amazed me? I have 16 square metres of allotment and plenty of pests and critters wanting to share my produce, but I STILL have plenty to share and eat. It would be different of course if I was feeding a family, but just for me I pick lots. I probably plant too closely of course to achieve this, but each time I clear a plant for the compost heap I make sure I dig in plenty more organic matter. Good luck with your veggies this year.

      Reply

  6. Anna B
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 23:49:10

    It is amazing that we can feed ourselves! I feel very lucky indeed. Jean you always look so happy in your photos! You really cheer me up! : )

    Reply

  7. Mark Willis
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 07:19:25

    Hi Jean; How nice to have that store of goodies at your disposal. I don’t freeze much, because I like to feed on fresh stuff that is in season, but I do make some exceptions – such as Runner Beans and tomato sauce.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jan 05, 2013 @ 08:51:53

      Hi Mark. Thank you for visiting. I do agree with what you say about eating fresh stuff in season. That is always my first choice and I follow that creed. My problem lies with the fact that even after sharing my produce I still have some left over. That’s when my “war baby” thing comes alive and I just get into preserving mode. It was only when I started blanching surplus veggies that I realised I needed the little freezer and I found a good second hand one. I would love to be able to grow runner beans but I think you need a cooler climate. I do grow beans over here in Brisbane but they are not the same.

      Reply

      • Sue@GLAllotments
        Jan 05, 2013 @ 19:22:58

        Just a little word of caution. I see that you are holding parsnips whilst wearing a sleeveless T shirt.
        Are you aware that you can get really bad burns from parsnip sap especially if the sun is shining when the sap gets onto your skin.

        The burns blister badly, are very painful and can take ages to heal. They can also leave the affected area of the skin photosensitive.

        Hope you don’t mind the comment – I’m not trying to preach to you but I’ve seen the effects on a plot neighbour.

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Jan 05, 2013 @ 19:26:26

        WOW. I had no idea. Thank you for the tip.

  8. Live and Learn-Toss and Turn
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 02:38:32

    Yum! Beetroot. (We just call them beets.) Fresh from the garden, they are so sweet. While I like them pickled, I prefer them plain. I like reading about your garden while everything here is brown and cold.

    Reply

  9. Susan
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 20:22:31

    Well done – and isn’t it just so satisfying eating your own growns. I love knowing that sprays haven’t been used.
    Your freezer sounds like it’s bursting 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 06:52:11

      It WAS bursting Susan, a bit more depleted now. It has been an interesting journey as I’ve used all my creative energy to produce meals that use up these contents without having to go out and buy another 6 items just to complete one recipe. January is an expensive month when a number of annual bills arrive, and by eating my freezer contents I’ve saved on heaps of grocery money.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

The Earth Mama

The day and life of an Earth Mama

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

The Earth Mama

The day and life of an Earth Mama

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Garden Smallholder

A Tiny Farm In A Big Garden

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

