Inspiring Blogger Award

It was a nice surprise to find a nomination for me today by Lois of ‘Living Simply Free’ for the Inspiring Blogger Award. You can check out this link to Lois’s blog – she writes about simple living in a 300 sq ft apartment.

inspiring blogger award

Thank you for the nomination Lois.To satisfy the requirements I need to first list 7 things about myself.

1. Today my hairdresser snipped off the last of my blonde tips. I am now officially 49 shades of grey. This might come as a shock to my children who have probably only ever seen me with blonde hair.

2. By tomorrow I may decide to buy a bottle of blonde hair colour.

3. A dinner without a portion of my home grown silverbeet cannot really satisfy.

4. I can never have too many home-grown vegetables stashed in the fridge.

5. I can never have too many pots of home-made preserves in the larder.

6. I love my allotment.

7. I am probably obsessive about fresh veggies. (Oh, really?)

Now I have to declare my favourite fifteen blogs. I don’t think you’ll be too surprised at the subjects covered.  So here goes.

Cityhippyfarmgirl

DOWN TO EARTH

Slow Living Essentials

The Micro Gardener – making it easy to grow your own in small spaces.

Allotment Heaven

Square Foot Gardening

The Scrumptious Pumpkin

Plot Craft

Allotment Plot 4

Gladys In the Garden

A Gardener’s Table | Celebrating the Harvest

theroadtoserendipity

Dig the Outside

Lightly Crunchy

Not Just Green Fingers

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna B
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 23:34:03

    You’re definitely an inspiration to me Jean! Thanks so much for listing me as one of your favorites!! I’m really surprised and over the moon 🙂 Thank you so much!

    Reply

  2. narf77
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 03:19:49

    Me too! Thank you for the kudos Jean :). I get as much out of your wonderful blog as you ever would out of mine and as you are a good 4 months ahead of us with your Queensland gardening season I can see what the season is dishing up nice and early and go with what grows well with you 😉

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Nov 30, 2012 @ 06:18:37

      Hi Fran. Thank you for your kind words. Just checking the weather on the tele this morning and the mainland is in the grip of a real heat-wave. Can you believe it, some folk even left their kids in cars yesterday and the kids had to be rescued!

      Reply

  3. livingsimplyfree
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 05:16:43

    That was quick. I am like you, I used to color my hair blonde, then when no color would cover the grey I finally gave up and cut off the color to let the grey show. Still after a couple of years, people who see me remind me I need to add color. Why? You have some wonderful blogs listed here, can’t wait to check them all out.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Nov 30, 2012 @ 06:14:31

      I’m still looking at my reflection in the mirror trying to get used to it. I have experienced the same thing that you mention, the grey hair couldn’t grab the colour properly. I have already decided that I need to get more strong colour in my wardrobe to balance the new look. My friend who grew her hair colour out found she needed to get a couple of purple tops and some silver jewellery. It really suited her. I hope you enjoy the blogs I have listed.

      Reply

  4. notjustgreenfingers
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 23:33:07

    Oooooooh thank you Jean for mentioning my blog. I do love reading your blog too.

    Reply

  5. MrsYub
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 10:34:02

    What a fantastic list! Thanks for sharing 😀 I am enjoying browsing the ones I do not know 😉

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Dec 01, 2012 @ 20:52:20

      Pleased you are enjoying the list Mrs Yub. I like to discover new blogs too. I have to get up earlier and earlier in the morning to read through them! But I do enjoy getting the insight into what others are up to in their garden, or kitchen, or craft room.

      Reply

  6. sarah @ gladys in the garden
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 09:59:23

    Congratulations on your nominiation. You are an inspiring blogger to me as well so thank you for nominating me as well. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

