Bread and Butter Pickles – day 2

Following on from yesterday’s post, I ended up with three jars of Bread and Butter Pickles.

Bread and Butter Pickles

Although it takes 2 days to complete the recipe it really is hardly any effort at all. Once you’ve sliced and salted the cucumbers they just sit in the fridge overnight. Waiting. Then you prepare the jars and pickling vinegar the next day.

We had a lovely downpour of rain last night and it’s over 30 degrees today so with weather like that I reckon that in a couple of days I’ll have another bag full of cucumbers. In our climate these jars need to be stored in the fridge as they do not go through a water bath – Β the way my cucumber plants are going I might have to buy another fridge.

It is amazing to me just how much produce you can get from two tiny allotments (16 square metres in all). I know this is only three jars, but that was just one picking, and my three cucumber plants have only just started producing.

And did I mention that the kale and silverbeet is STILL producing. I would have thought by now that my winter crop would have given up the ghost. Must have their roots firmly established. Probably take a truck to grub them out when the time comes.

Happy gardening.

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. livingsimplyfree
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 14:56:36

    Glad to hear your garden plot is producing so well. I have just nominated you for the Inspiring Blogger award.

    Reply

  2. Anna B
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 23:32:38

    I LOVE your own labels! You are an inspiration indeed! As for your Kale still growing, it’s my new favourite veggie ever – baked kale chips are a new phenomenon to me and what a revelation! I’ve ordered my kale seeds already for next year! Hope my plants live long and prosper like yours πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Nov 30, 2012 @ 06:36:32

      Hi again Anna. I set up a sheet of labels for my preserves on the computer with a bit of help from one of the staff at the local “Apple” store. All I do now is update the details and re-print. Now you mention kale chips, I have noticed it popping up a lot recently. I will obviously have to give it a go. One of the ways I use my kale is to shred it finely and saute it with a bit of onion and garlic in a little olive oil. Very tasty. I should have arms like Popeye.

      Reply

  3. narf77
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 03:18:25

    It shows what a good veggie gardener I am…I didn’t know that kale is a winter crop and we have just started growing some Cavello nero…DUH! Oh well…I guess you live and you learn πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Nov 30, 2012 @ 06:26:50

      Hi again Fran. You might be alright with your kale in Tassie during summer. I’d be interested to know how you go with it. My kale is still as strong as anything even in this heat but it has had months to set down roots and I’ve covered the area with a thick layer of mulch to protect the roots. I’ve harvested leaf by leaf for some months and the stalk is now up to my waist and really thick. I’ll leave them there while they are still producing.

      Reply

  4. MrsYub
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 13:26:50

    My kale is still going strong, too. I have red kale, and dwarf green kale, though they huge, so I fon’t know where the ‘dwarf’ comes in, lol! And Silverbeer and spinach have always been year round for me (first time Kale grower, so don’t know what to expect πŸ˜‰ ) I’ve also still got fennel and cabbage, and cauliflower. Its been so hot, though…
    If I have any cucumbers spare, I’ll have to give this a go!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Preserve your harvest « Allotment Adventures with Jean

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

The Earth Mama

The day and life of an Earth Mama

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

The Earth Mama

The day and life of an Earth Mama

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Garden Smallholder

A Tiny Farm In A Big Garden

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

