Still harvesting winter crops

I have missed going over to the allotment during the past week while I’ve been ‘in solitary’ nursing a particularly savage virus.

But the sun was shining this morning and I felt up to a quick visit for a bit of watering and harvesting.

The winter veggies are just about over but I still came back with plenty of food.  I emptied the second potato bag and harvested a lovely bowl of tender young spuds. The caterpillars have set up home in some of my silverbeet plants while I have been away, but there is still plenty for me too. The Italian kale Cav0lo Nero is still producing plenty of almost black leaves full of vitamins and minerals.  (How come I got sick when I eat this wonderful stuff?)

The climbing beans are doing just fine so I picked plenty to keep me going, I always take home a posy of parsley to sit on the kitchen bench and I harvested the last of the beetroot to pickle.

One thing I have given up on over at the allotment is tomatoes.  The despicable fruit fly have won the battle there.

Not one to give up without a fight I have decided to have a go at tomatoes on my little balcony at home and I have just one tomato plant there in a pot. Guess what. I came home today and I have one tiny little baby tomato. Here is a photo. Take my word for it under one of those leaves is a tiny little tomato.

Happy gardening.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. narf77
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 18:38:07

    I see it! :). Our tomatoes have little flowers on them but none of them have actual tomatoes on them yet. We don’t get fruit flies down here in Tasmania but our growing season is very short and so we tend to get left with lots of green tomatoes on our bushes. I am glad to see you back after your illness. Maybe you need to blend up some of that kale and make yourself some green smoothies? Make sure to add lots of fruit to those smoothies so that the kale doesn’t overpower it and soon you will boost your immunity out of the ballpark :). We bought Cavolo nero seed and have planted some out after seeing your lovely photos recently. I want to plant some in the garden its so pretty :).

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Nov 06, 2012 @ 20:25:26

      So pleased you found it Fran. I put a liquid feed on the plant yesterday – and today I get a tomato! How amazing is Mother Nature. Green smoothies is a good idea. I certainly have no shortage of green leaves. But while I’ve been sick I have been drinking big glasses of fresh lemon juice and honey as hot as I can stand it when I get up in the morning. That seems to help with the throat. Some of those old fashioned remedies still work.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Nov 07, 2012 @ 04:01:58

        The lemon juice and honey is a fantastic idea…if you add a pinch of chilli flakes, a clove of crushed garlic (it doesn’t taste disgusting at all) and a teaspoon full of fresh minced ginger you have a powerhouse concoction that will knock the socks off a cold at short notice. I would add a bit of turmeric (especially as you can get fresh turmeric up there) as its an incredible super food and full to the brim of antioxidants. I only take medication when I really REALLY need it. The old fashioned ways to treat colds etc. are often very effective its just the chemical companies poo-poo them because there isn’t any money for them in their production…funny how they keep doing secret research into them though and buying up the rights to specific compounds that they contain ;). Steve actually made a poultice the other day for a splinter and it worked amazingly well…roll on old school simple medicines for minor things I say 🙂

  2. judi
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 07:28:59

    Hi jean … Hope you are feeling better had wondered why I had not seen you around for awhile.
    I too am growing tomatoes on my balcony and doing well the only problem, a lot of the leaves at bottom of plant quite yellow and a few dying, although producing tomatoes. I fertilize once a week.
    Any suggestions ????

    Reply

  3. MrsYub
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 15:57:57

    Sunlight is good for people who are feeling under the weather. I am glad you are venturing out 🙂
    Congrats on the baby tomatoes! Yay for you! I have several baby plants, and a few slightly larger ones that are covered in flowers so I may be fortunate this year 😀

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 17:48:06

      Hi Mrs Yub. I’ve been down to the allotment this morning to enjoy more fresh air. It does lift the spirits. Good luck with the tomato plants. If they are covered in flowers then hopefully you get plants covered with tomatoes!

      Reply

      • MrsYub
        Nov 07, 2012 @ 17:51:11

        Yes, and my big blessing of the moment is that, unlike last year, I have something other than cherry tomato plants growing! YESSSSSS!!!

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

