“In Your Garden Today”

“In Your Garden Today” is the subject of this week’s photograph in Deb’s Photographic Scavenger Hunt.

My garden is not in my backyard, it’s a 15 minute drive over at Morningside, it’s my allotment.

So here we go …..

The allotment at 5:30pm with red cabbage, kohl rabi, parsley and mint in the foreground

The allotment at 5:35pm from the other direction with kale and potato bags in the foreground

The allotment at 5:45pm as the sun starts to set

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 21:58:52

    Hi Jean, I’ve popped over from Deb’s.
    You’ve a thriving vegie garden. Your kale is looking especially good and I love the idea of growing potatoes in those bags too.
    Cheers, Susan :D)

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Sep 09, 2012 @ 06:05:58

      Thank you for visiting Susan. I love my kale, (Cavalo Nero the black Italian kale). I pick at it almost daily as you can see by the length of the stalk. I have 16 square metres of land so I thought I’d try the potato bags to save space. Gardening’s an adventure over in my little plot. I have visited your blog this morning, it’s a great blog, love your pics and looking forward to following it.

      Reply

  2. Deb Cameron
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 22:25:08

    Looks beautifully lush and productive. I want a vegie garden like that when I grow up.

    Reply

  3. Jezzabella
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 10:16:11

    Hey Jean, your plot is looking spectacularly delicious at the moment, well it always does. I love the potato bag idea. Will you give me a lesson how to do it. This idea will work well in my little vegi garden.

    Reply

  4. narf77
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 10:59:29

    What a wonderul plot full of posibilities Jean! I love the healthy vibrance of your space and how balanced it all looks. I will be coming to you with my veggie novice problems 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Sep 09, 2012 @ 17:51:53

      Hi Fran, I’m a virgo so that explains why the little path I’ve made goes exactly down the middle of my allotment! Talk to me about veggies any time, it’s my favourite subject.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Sep 10, 2012 @ 06:37:43

        Fantastic! We just went wandering in the garden yesterday to try to enthuse ourselves about spring and everything is starting to green up and all of our deciduous (potted) trees are telling us to get them into the ground. I thought that all of my globe artichokes were dead but they are all starting to shoot again so this year I should get them into the ground! I noticed our 2 cardamom plants that we bought last year from a tiny little nursery inland where the frost lasts all day…they can’t be that hard to grow in Tasmania and they must be hardy because ours are not only still alive, but flourishing! It just goes to show, don’t believe that you can’t grow something until you try 🙂 My mum was a Virgo and had green thumbs Jean, she made a garden everywhere she went…it must be because you are Earth mothers 🙂

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Sep 10, 2012 @ 06:54:41

        I look forward to seeing pics of your garden Fran. I believe what you say about Virgo’s, I am a true earth sign, love to get my fingers in the soil. I like to keep my feet on the ground too, which is a bit of a problem when I have a big family in the UK I like to visit – 24 hours flying at the last count.

      • narf77
        Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:25:45

        I went once Jean…air France…NEVER AGAIN! Most of the plane was falling apart and I was absolutely terrified that our whole family would perish and be doomed thanks to air Frog…I like my feet firmly on the ground as well and I have enough problems flying to the mainland without heading over to the U.K. again! Steve’s mum, brother and family all live in the U.K. but he seems quite happy here (at the moment). If he ever wanted to go back we would send him 😉 “I” look forwards to seeing pics of the garden too Jean lol 😉

  5. Maria
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 12:42:18

    Jean, you’ve certainly got a thriving garden there at the allotment! Another blogger I follow (Bits out the back) was trialling those potato bags last year; they’re a great idea! I experimented with growing potatoes in large tubs/pots last year and it also worked well too so i have 2 tubs on the go at the moment for the potatoes plus another lot in one of the raised beds. It’s lovely to connect with other enthusiastic gardeners like yourself 🙂

    Reply

  6. Chris
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 17:27:08

    Hello Jean, ‘mI on the Scavenger Hunt today too but alas I’m late with my post. Your allotment is spectacular and well worth the 15 minute drive to get to it. Everything looks so healthy and your photos depict a tranquil and happy environment.

    Reply

  7. Lynn
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 19:48:36

    Hi Jean, just popped over from Debs. Love your vege plot. It must keep you very busy.

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 18:41:01

    What a productive garden you have. It looks amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

