Eden Gardens

My friend Barbara and I spent a great morning at Eden Gardens at Carseldine yesterday. For anyone interested in gardening this is a lovely way to spend a few hours.

We began our visit with coffee and scones with piles of jam and cream at the cafe. We were fortunate enough to have a table overlooking this peaceful tree surrounded little lake, so I whipped out the camera.

We had coffee overlooking this peaceful garden

We then made our way through the wonderful gift shop looking for a new pair of gardening shoes for me. I was looking for a pair of Sloggers, the lightweight waterproof footwear.  I have tried various footwear for allotment visits including big ‘wellies’ for soggy weather. Effective but heavy.

So this was the time to splash out and spoil myself with a pair of Sloggers. I had a great time trying them on to find the perfect pair. It was a lovely surprise when Barbara treated me to my pretty little Sloggers for my birthday. Thank you Barbara, it’s a lovely gift and I’ll think about you whenever I’m sloshing through the mud at the farm. We also picked up a young healthy Rosemary plant.

My purchases – pretty gardening shoes and Rosemary plant

We ended our visit with a stroll around the outdoor gardening area with plants for sale and beautiful displays, so out came the camera again.

Lovely flower displays

Pansies

More pansies

I’ll get over to the allotment later today to take my Sloggers on their maiden voyage. Expect more photos.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. plotcraft
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 19:06:59

    Looks a lovely place to go. Hope the Sloggers work out.

    Reply

  2. narf77
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 23:29:15

    SUN! You have sunshine! It even looks like you have flowers! I have a few daffodils that the rain flattened and I had to bring in to the house (muddy and somewhat dishevelled…both the daffodils and me 😉 ). One day, around about October when the frosts stop rendering plants “mush” we might even get spring around here…I know that I shouldn’t be envying your sunshine as you will soon get the humidity to match while I am basking on the deck in mid 20C temperatures but darn it…I DO 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Aug 08, 2012 @ 17:16:27

      Hi Narf, yes we are getting lovely sunny days at the moment, nippy at night still tho’. I am making the most of my time at the allotment while the weather is so kind to us. As you point out, come the summer the temperature and humidity is a challenge. That’s when I get up with the sun and pop over to the allotment early and at 10am I slink off home.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Aug 09, 2012 @ 07:13:53

        Smart lady! I tend to bask like a lizard (albeit an albino lizard who has to stay out of the sun or fry…) in summer in the heat of the day and scuttle around the perimeter of the heat wildly gesticulating with secateurs in the garden. Luckily I have forcibly changed myself (kicking and screaming all the way…)from a slothly night person into a spritely early morning person and I am ready for you summer! Bring it on! We get humid here as well when the temperature gets above about 26C (which it doesn’t often do here in Tasmania). There is nothing so stiffling as a still hot Tasmanian day! We live on a river so just being able to look out and see the water does something to your psyche that cools you down… and if that doesn’t work there are always the cool bathroom tiles to lay on but I have to shove the dogs out of the way first 😉

  3. Ruth (MrsW)
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 09:02:26

    Look at all that beautiful colour! thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

