Oranges with garlic anyone?

This is proof indeed that my last harvest of garlic, despite it’s cloves looking rather puny, is strong enough to keep away an army of vampires.

What proof I hear you say?

Now I am an old fashioned ‘one chopping board only does just fine’ sort of girl (except for meat of course).  If it was good enough for my grandmother etc etc.  After each use a good scrub with soap and hot water should do it.  That is until confronted with my home-grown garlic.  Granted I did rather chop a lot of it the night before, added it to my pot of veggie soup.  Then into the sink for a big scrub (the board, silly).

Got up in the morning and sliced yummy oranges to go with my yoghurt.

Mmmm  – a curious hint of something –

I will no longer pour scorn on the owners of the multi-pack of different coloured chopping boards – one for every food group known to man (or woman).  Mind you, of course, THEY don’t have my garlic do they?

Happy gardening.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slowborg
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 21:49:34

    haha! I’m surprised I haven’t had this happen to me, I have a few boards but tend to just use the smallest one and put garlic in EVERYTHING! Home grown garlic is in my experience is potent! 😀

    Reply

  2. narf77
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 07:05:22

    Oranges with garlic will probably be the next greatest health kick Jean, don’t worry about it! I just made kimchi the other day and whilst I am enjoying it immensely, Steve says it smells like something that the dog rolled in…with an enormous quantity of garlic in it, it certainly does…and normally the dog won’t go near my vegetarian food (BORING!) but he has taken to sniffing my kimchi…hmmmmm! 😉

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 24, 2012 @ 07:19:33

      I have made sauerkraut, still have a big jar of it in the fridge. I was going to make the kimchi next but your comment has given me food for thought. Ha.

      Reply

      • narf77
        Jul 25, 2012 @ 06:29:34

        It tastes really delicious Jean, just make sure that you put it in an airtight jar! Mine had a crack in the top because, as with everything that I do, I went overboard and made Kimchi for the entire North Korean army lol. I am slowly working my way through it. It’s like pickled very tasty hot cabbage and I am really enjoying it. Steve doesn’t like the smell of it but I also went overboard and added a HUGE amount of garlic as I am looking for the health benefits as well. You can tone it down a lot lol 😉

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Jul 25, 2012 @ 08:11:15

        Thanks Fran (Narf77) for your hints on Kimchi.

  3. Ruth (MrsW)
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 09:55:25

    Oh no Jean! that wouldn’t have been such a nice breakfast taste! I’m like you and use my boards for everything…hmmm wonder if it is worth looking into a few different coloured boards….lol. Regards, Ruth xx

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 24, 2012 @ 10:19:48

      Hi Ruth. Di Ferguson my friend from the allotment has just sent a comment that rubbing the board with a cut lemon will fix the problem. Saves having to go out and buy the rainbow of coloured boards – then I’d have to remember which food group went with which colour!

      Reply

  4. Di Ferguson
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 10:08:46

    I have heard that rubbing a cut lemon will remove the garlic from your board

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 24, 2012 @ 10:14:49

      Di that sounds like a brilliant idea. Thanks for the hint. I don’t mind the flavour of lemon on my oranges!!
      Saves me buying a separate board for my garlic. One thing that amazed me is how potent the garlic is, it looked a bit puny when I harvested it.

      Reply

  5. Jode
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 21:14:21

    oh dear….must have tasted awful! Reminds me a little of when i added garlic infused oil instead of plain olive oil into the water squirt bottle i use for the twins bottom wipes…they smelled like garlic at every nappy change!!!

    Reply

  6. cityhippyfarmgirl
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 08:17:42

    A little scrub with some bicarb should get it out too Jean.

    Reply

  7. Allotment adventures with Jean
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 08:25:31

    Thanks for the tip Brydie. Saves me buying a special board just for my potent home-grown garlic.

    Reply

  8. notjustgreenfingers
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 15:03:11

    Your post made me laugh. I have that problem when I use homegrown onions…they are so strong my eyes water and water

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

