A morning’s work in the community garden

Today was our usual Wednesday morning gathering of volunteers who work together on the community garden at the farm where I keep my allotment.

The weather didn’t look very promising, dark clouds coming and going and a threat of rain. We turned up in our various wet-weather gear.

I wore enough layers to tackle Everest – I feel a bit ashamed really because Brisbane is 19c degrees today. But I did peel a couple of layers off once I’d been working for a while.

My first job in the community garden was harvesting. The carrot bed is coming along nicely, when the seeds were planted we incorporated plenty of sand to lighten it up. Despite this, we still found some of the carrots were a bit forked. But this is the one I pulled up first and I think it’s a beauty.

Then we cleared the ground of the old beans which seemed to be going nowhere, into the compost they went, and we planted some fresh seedlings.

Beans cleared and new seedlings planted

Another bed was cleared. We opened one of the big compost bins and barrowed the stuff over to build up the bed before planting English Spinach seedlings.

Bed cleared, compost added, English Spinach seedlings planted

This cauliflower is looking so healthy and strong, no caterpillar holes, but no flower head either! Oh well, perhaps there is still time. I can’t believe it’s not possible to use the leaves anyway, they just look too good to waste. It calls for a bit of ‘Googling’ to find out what to do with them.

Cauliflower – without the flower!

The broad beans are looking good, except that they are just starting to be attacked by bugs.  So one of the ladies mixed up a home-remedy organic liquid and we sprayed it on. See if that works.

Broad beans in the community garden

My last job was over at my allotment. My daughter-in-law had given me a couple of red cabbage seedlings. I planted them and watered them in with Seasol liquid seaweed to help them get over the shock of transplanting.

Red cabbage seedling

My plan is to pickle the red cabbage when it’s mature and I do not intend sharing it with the caterpillars. To that end I have put a cage over the seedlings – one cage per seedling – are they spoiled or what?  Next time I’m over there I’ll cover the frames with a fine mesh.

Cages for red cabbage seedlings

(The frames were hanging around the farm and look like they were originally shelves from an upright freezer. Either way, I think they might do the job.)

We can but try. Happy gardening.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol-Beth Cundy
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 18:36:26

    Buggs Bunny would have been proud.

    Reply

  2. narf77
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 19:01:29

    (if he didn’t take that left turn at Alburquerque that is… 😉 )

    Reply

    • Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 20:39:53

      Ha! Too funny! I wonder why we all immediately thought of bugs bunny..

      Reply

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Jul 12, 2012 @ 07:50:51

        Because we all have a wonderful sense of humour Heidi. But I have to admit that the other volunteers working around me almost burst into applause. We agreed it was worth a photograph.

      • narf77
        Jul 12, 2012 @ 19:46:04

        lol. My post for Wednesday was predominately about that fluffy little scamp. Do you remember that episode where Bugs was tormenting Elmer Fudd as an attractive Valkyrie on an enormous white horse until Elmer found him out and attempted to “Pwug” him? I had been talking about that in my post and “blow me down” if you didn’t mention him in your comment so I had to agree to say the least 🙂

      • Allotment adventures with Jean
        Jul 13, 2012 @ 07:09:21

        Enjoyed reading your Wednesday blog. Didn’t realise you were such a Bugs Bunny aficionado.(I had to check the word on google, for the spelling, but then it also informed me that it’s ‘A person who is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about an activity, subject, or pastime.) I like that. Cheers, Jean

      • narf77
        Jul 13, 2012 @ 18:03:48

        Lol aside from I think that Bugs Bunny is a psychopath! I don’t think that they will let me into the fan club with that sort of attitude lol 😉

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 07:57:00

      So that’s where he disappeared to .. turned left instead of right

      Reply

      • narf77
        Jul 12, 2012 @ 19:46:48

        Yup…and ended up in Alburquerque rather than sunning himself on Pismo Beach with a bewildered Daffy Duck RIGHT out of his comfort zone lol 😉

  3. Jules
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 01:16:04

    Hi Jean,

    That carrot is perfect! Mine have never looked that straight before.

    I too have a lot of problems with brassicas being eaten by bugs, usually the white cabbage moth. I usually pick them off by hand but that requires daily vigilance which is not always possible (I have a 9 month old baby who I report to!) Your idea with the cage is inspired. I will be very interested to see what results you yield.

    Also, I love the idea of eating the cauliflower leaves and will be giving it a go when I am growing them next. Here is a link you migh find interesting: http://www.recyclethis.co.uk/20100412/how-can-i-reuse-or-recycle-cauliflower-leaves .

    Happy gardening!

    Cheers,
    Jules

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 08:13:08

      Hi Jules. Thanks for visiting and for the link to the recycle website. I found it really interesting and I’ll go back there. Incidentally, I tried to click on your name to go to your blog but it didn’t work. Can you give me your blog link so I can check it out?

      Reply

  4. Ruth (MrsW)
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 13:40:43

    What a fantastic Carrot 🙂 Love your idea of the baskets and I can’t wait to see how it works for you 🙂 Do you know what the recipe was for the organic remedy? Looking forward to watching your garden grow as it comes into spring in a few months, I’m going to get into mine over the next few weeks….it’s quite a sight at the moment! **hangs head in shame** lol. Till next time, Regards, Ruth xx

    Reply

  5. Carol-Beth Cundy
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 17:09:57

    Jean, I’m waiting for you to photograph your harvest of toms, then I’ll try to post a photo of a couple my husband grew a few years back, believe me they were definitely worth the photos I took of them, and not for their size!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jul 13, 2012 @ 17:22:49

      Hi Carol-Beth. Sorry to say that tomatoes don’t do too well over at the farm as we have a real problem with fruit fly. So I shouldn’t hold your breath for a decent photo from me. But I’d love it if you would post a photo. Best wishes. Jean

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Frugal Queen

Writing about all things thrifty, home cooking, fun on a budget and living between Cornwall and Huelgoat in Brittany.

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

