“Mr DeMille, I’m ready for my close up”

I couldn’t resist this quote from Sunset Boulevard.

I have been wanting to take macro photos at the allotment for some time now. I use the camera on my iPhone 4S and splashed out the other day to buy a 3-in-one photo lens. The lens is quite small and clips on to the corner of the phone.

New 3-in-one lens

I am still learning and my hand tends to wobble as I try to zoom in, you need to get really close to the subject, and of course being a leaf or a flower they will Not Stay Still.  Anyway, this is my first attempt which I would like to share with you.

This tiny mauve flower is on my garlic chive and is 7mm across. The garlic chives have been flowering for weeks now and I think they are so pretty.

Flower on Garlic Chives

Flowering Garlic Chive

This is my thyme plant with the shot taken at the tip of a stem which is 6mm across. I see the beauty of the leaf at such close quarters.

Thyme

Here are a couple of shots of the developing flower on my sweet basil plant, taken from the side and from the end of the stalk.

Sweet Basil starting to flower

Sweet Basil at the tip of the developing flower head.

The lens also allows me to take wide-angle and fish-eye. Could be fun trying them out.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lightlycrunchy
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 11:15:13

    Great pics!

    Reply

  2. plotcraft
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 18:11:40

    They’re great photos – the lens was a great buy.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jun 27, 2012 @ 12:57:44

      Thank you for the comment, and guess who got me started on this?? I have had such great pleasure checking out the insect photographs that you have posted on your blog that it fascinated me. I would love to be able to do that myself. I am wondering if you have special lenses to get that sort of clarity?

      Reply

  3. narf77
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 18:45:27

    It looks like you are going to be having some fun over the next few days Jean! 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jun 27, 2012 @ 12:48:47

      I would, except that it’s absolutely pouring down in Brisbane today with no sign of it stopping. So it’s a day to curl up with a book which is no problem because yesterday I found the popular new book “All That I Am” by Anna Funder at the library.

      Reply

  4. Tanya @ Lovely Greens
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 01:55:40

    Having a lens like that certainly puts the garden in a different perspective – have fun taking more photos 🙂

    Reply

  5. The Scrumptious Pumpkin
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 03:56:46

    Had no idea it’s possible to buy a macro lens for the iPhone – you really can do anything with those phones! Beautiful photos 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jun 27, 2012 @ 12:37:00

      Thank you for visiting, and for your lovely comment. I have only had my new iPhone for a few weeks and I’m trying to get the most out of it. As you point out it is amazing what they can do. I believe these lens attachments have only been out for a short time. I am really thrilled with it. The next thing is to try out the wide-angle lens. It’s pouring with rain in Brisbane today with no sign of it stopping, so I’ll have to wait to get outside to take a ‘wide’ photo.

      Reply

  6. Tatiana
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 06:00:53

    Oooooo, a macro lens for the iPhone, there will be no stopping you now – beautiful photos. Come to think of it, my iPhone is looking a bit bare 😉. You do inspire me Jean

    Reply

  7. Amanda
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 09:47:38

    Hi Jean! I didn’t know you could get a lens like this for the iphone. I am definitely saving for one of these as I love macro photography!!!! You have a lovely little blog and some lovely herbs in your garden

    Reply

  8. Di Ferguson
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 10:28:14

    Jean, Really enjoyed your closeups. The garlic chives, a beautiful hue and so delicate. Isn’t nature grand! See you at the Farm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

