A batch of delicious herb and cheese scones

It is now becoming fashionable to cut down on waste and live sustainably which I think is wonderful.  But it is nothing new to me as, to quote my Barbara, we were both ‘war babies’ born during a time of great conflict in the world.   It was a time of rationing in the UK and general deprivation.

“Now what has all this got to do with a batch of delicious savoury scones?” I hear you say.

Well, I found myself in ‘retro mode’ this morning.  Plus, I had flat leafed and curly parsley from the allotment, a nice piece of cheddar and half a jar of fresh cream that I wanted to use up.

So out came the ‘Margaret Fulton’ as I have found her to have good old-fashioned tried and tested recipes. I decided a batch of scones would just fit the bill, with a bit of tweaking from me.

Flat leafed and curly parsley from the allotment

You don’t usually find full cream in my fridge (the hips!) but I bought this jar for a special recipe the other day and bought the larger jar to be on the ‘safe side’.

So …  Pre-heat the oven to 220c.

I used the basic scone recipe of 3 cups of self-raising flour, 1 tsp salt, 2 oz (60 grams) of butter. Rub together to resemble breadcrumbs.

Instead of a cup of milk I used milk/cream half and half to make a richer mix.

I added a really big handful of the chopped parsley and a cup of grated cheddar to make a nice stiff dough.

Rolled out the dough, brushed the top with the rest of the cream and a sprinkling of grated cheddar. And it’s that finishing touch that gave me the lovely golden top to the finished batch.

Scones ready for the oven

Pop into a pre-heated oven – in this case it took 20 minutes. And out come the delicious herb and cheese scones.

Thank you Mrs Fulton.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nigel
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 18:37:43

    Good lord, you still have the old Margaret Fulton! You got that when we first emigrated didn’t you?

    Reply

  2. narf77
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 20:03:08

    I have that book Jean! I love it…I use it and I go back to it over and over again for good simple no fuss frugal recipes that stand the test of time (aside from the meaty recipes that were compiled when meat was as cheap as chips in Australia 😉 ). I totally agree with you about how “trendy” sustainability is now (and how profitable…) when its using frugal and money wise hints and tips from our mums etc. I learned so much from my gran who came from the UK on one of those $10 passages and who had to work as a ladies maid for a couple of years before she could be freed of her slavetude! Gran was amazing with herbs, all sorts of things and taught me so very much about using what you have…making do and always making the best of a bad lot. Forget “sustainability” and all of the latest buzz words, if you know how to live within your means you are going to be alright and that was number 1 on my grans “must know” list. Thankyou for this delicious recipe. My husband Steve (also from the UK, Liverpool…) LOVES cheese and scones and this combination might just make him faint 🙂

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Jun 16, 2012 @ 05:49:42

      Cheese and scones – real man’s food – tell Steve.
      I think we can learn a lot from how our mothers and grandmothers lived and the skills they had, fathers too. The blog that I follow daily is Rhonda Jean’s “Down to Earth” and she writes great stuff on the subject. You might want to check her out. Here is the link http://down—to—earth.blogspot.com.au/

      Reply

      • narf77
        Jun 16, 2012 @ 15:04:40

        Thanks for that Jean…I LOVE finding out new sources of precious information and my rss feed reader is crammed full of really fantastic blogs. I sometimes sit there reading posts early in the morning and feeling like I have won lotto for all of the fantastic things that I learn :). Knowledge is indeed power when you have less money and more time. Steve is off to make nettle wine on your suggestion. I will let you know what happens.

  3. Ruth (MrsW)
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 13:51:36

    Yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

