Monday afternoon at the allotment

It has been a beautiful day in Brisbane, 25 degrees, warm and sunny. The perfect day to work in the allotment. I prefer to go in the morning but there was a Labour Day March today which closed some of the roads until midday so I spent the morning at home baking  rye and caraway seed bread.  Very nice thank you with a dollop of my plum jam.  But I digress ….

I’ve been having a bit of trouble on the allotment with caterpillars getting to my lettuces before I do.  I don’t mind sharing – I was brought up properly – but I do want some left for myself.  So before I set off for the allotment I mixed up a special organic molasses and soap brew.  Check out  this link which will take you to Annette McFarlane’s website for the ‘recipe’. She is my guru as she lives in Brisbane so all of her gardening information is relevant to where I live.

Well, I had such a productive afternoon on my scrap of dirt.  Unlike yesterday, which was all sweat and tears.  The climbing frame that I struggled to try to get out of the ground yesterday shot up with a bit of a yank today and left me with a lovely clear bed ready for my new seeds – root vegetables.  I planted parsnips, carrots, beetroot and some organic swede seeds (try saying that when you’ve had a drink) my daughter-in-law had given me.

I sprayed Annette’s special brew over my lettuces, watered the little seedlings I planted yesterday, tied up my rampant cherry tomato plant (it’s taking over Brisbane) and got eaten alive by the midges.  I love Mother Nature. Why does she send me plagues and locusts!!

Before I left the allotment to go home I took a stroll around the farm as I usually do. I love it. It is so peaceful and I am so lucky to have found it. This is the community garden, and it’s surrounded by the allotments. The late afternoon was warm, balmy and just beautiful.

This is one of the gardens Dorothea has started on the edge of the farm, and surrounding my allotment.

I’ll be eating veggies and herbs from my little plot with my dinner tonight. And that’s what it’s all about folks.

Happy gardening.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol-Beth Cundy
    May 08, 2012 @ 06:12:12

    Jean, you mentioning Carraway seeds, takes me back to when I was first married (to my Cornishman) and I was introduced to a Cornish favourite of Seedy Cake, which of course is made with Carraway seeds, before that I had never baked with them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

Jerry Coleby-Williams

Sustainable Gardening in our Continually Surprising Climate

The Power of Thrift

and other ramblings

Nourishing Traditions

The Blog that Challenges Policitally Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats

could do worse

adventures in London

Allotmentals Plot 103

Allotment, garden and daytrips

Pickle Me Too

Nourishing foods for the whole family (including pickles!)

myproductivebackyard

Sustainable Backyard Food Production

My Front Burner

making what matters

30 acres of sunshine

organic, sustainable and self-sufficient hobby farm in the making

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticultural 'obbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

