Now that’s a lettuce

Now that's a lettuce

I picked this lettuce yesterday. My favourite “Drunken Woman”. Started on it at tea time and I’ll steadily work my way through it during the week.

I always keep one box of matches in the house, firstly to light birthday candles and secondly to boast about the size of my lettuces.

(OK. I know you are out there and growing fabulously enormous veggies which win first prizes and all that – but I garden in Queensland and fight pests, disease and all manner of pestilence on a daily basis and I think this is the first thing I’ve ever picked without a hole chewed in it!)

Happy Gardening

Image

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. narf77
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 05:31:13

    That lettuce is perfect in every way…in fact…I am renaming it “The Drunken Mary Poppins” lettuce from now on…can you imagine a drunken and beligerant Mary Poppins? Now THAT would have made a good movie! ;)

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Sep 16, 2013 @ 06:37:30

      I love your comment Fran. I cannot imagine Mary Poppins (or Julie Andrews) drunken or belligerent. In fact I really shouldn’t put those two words in the same sentence as these two esteemed ladies.

      It certainly would make a good movie. What about a drunken and beligerant Sound Of Music? Would bring new meaning to the song “what shall we do about Maria?” (sober her up and give her a good slap)

      Reply

  2. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 05:45:46

    I looked when we were buying seed this year – but couldn’t find drunken woman lettuce seed. It is beautiful, as you said. I’m picking lettuce again right now too – we had ours bolt in the heat wave, mowed it down and it all came back. I thought after it bolted that it was done, but it was a nice surprise to find out I was wrong.

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Sep 16, 2013 @ 06:33:05

      I’ve never seen the seed in the shops Heidi. Came from my friend who seed-saves – I think it could be an old heritage variety.
      Now that’s an interesting tip of yours. I didn’t know that lettuce could ‘rise again’ after they have bolted.

      Reply

  3. jensine
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 06:10:22

    now I would love some of that … mmmhhh

    Reply

  4. MrsYub
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 09:45:25

    Its a lovely lettuce. Its like a big green flower! The matches are a nice touch. Its interesting how there are a few items in every home that are recognized world wide, eh?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 30,958 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Growing vegetables on two small allotments

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on two small allotments

The Greening of Gavin

Growing vegetables on two small allotments

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on two small allotments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

