The garlic harvest

Today I harvested my garlic over at the allotment.

It was a very small garlic bed, could even have been missed if you didn’t know where to look. Here it is between the lettuce and the alyssum.

The (tiny) garlic bed

The garlic bed

But just look at the lovely crop I harvested this morning. When I’ve dried it off it will be enough to last me through until next season.

Garlic harvest Sept 2013

Garlic harvest Sept 2013

I plant the garlic in April and harvest in September so whatever land I use is tied up for six months and that’s why I’m a bit stingy with it as my allotment is tiny compared to the ones in the UK.

This garlic looks wonderful to me. The heads are much bigger than last year’s harvest which I’m pleased about. I practice seed-saving.  I started a couple of years ago with some garlic given to me from the community garden over at the allotments and some from my daughter-in-law who bought it from Green Harvest up in Maleny in Queensland.  Both lots were organic.

I’ll be saving one of the garlic heads to plant out next April. I’ll also use the baby bulbs that you find growing in the stems of the garlic plant.

I put my keys in the basket so show the size of the bulbs.

Garlic

Garlic

Garlic

Garlic

Happy gardening.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maria Goodwin
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 20:13:59

    What a great yield from such a small area, Jean! I’m inspired to try planting some next year!

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

  2. Jean
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 22:27:51

    I want to plant some next year too after seeing this.

    Reply

  3. narf77
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 04:51:05

    Years ago, my brother, who was visiting dad. planted a small veggie garden and when we inherited the place all that was left was a patch of asparagus and lots of elephant garlic. It keeps on keeping on. I keep pulling it up every year and it keeps growing! There must be a lot of little cloves that fall off when I pull the garlic out of the ground and I swear I get it all but I obviously don’t. The wallabies adore the green leaves and chew them to the ground but they must have enough food at the moment as they are leaving it alone (for now). Your basket of garlic would just about last me a fortnight. We LOVE garlic here and eat a lot of it in just about everything. I plan on having an entire garden bed donated to just growing garlic in the coming season. I even have the cloves ready to go. We can plant it pretty much anytime here (same as broad beans) so as soon as we get the last of the poles in to get the enclosure built for our HUGE veggie garden I can start planting in earnest. Love your harvest and love the colour, anything coloured is going to give you more vitamins :)

    Reply

  4. MrsYub
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 09:53:50

    I must ask..when is the best time to harvest the garlic? When do you know its ready? I have garlic growing for the first time this year, and I am realizing how little I know!

    Reply

    • Allotment adventures with Jean
      Sep 17, 2013 @ 10:27:11

      Mrs Yub I live in South-east Queensland so I’m in a sub-tropical climate. I plant garlic cloves in April and harvest in September/October. Harvest when the leaves begin to turn brown.

      You could get more information regarding growing garlic in your area if you can locate a local community garden. I am lucky that my allotment is joined to a community garden and everything I learned about growing garlic came from one of the other gardeners who has been growing garlic successfully for years.

      I think garlic is so worth growing, it’s an easy crop, doesn’t take up much room and it saves a fortune as decent organic garlic is so expensive in the shops.

      Good luck with your crop.

      Reply

  5. Simon G
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 20:33:34

    Wow. Home grown garlic looks tremendous. I bet it tastes a lot better than what you get in the shops. Better not breath on anyone Jean.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Coffee to Compost

a Florida gardening blog

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticulturalhobbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Garden Smallholder

Growing Veg & Chicken Keeping in a Rural Back Garden

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Allotment & Simple Living in the Modern Day......Allotment Growing, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Coffee to Compost

a Florida gardening blog

Foodnstuff

Energy decline & self-sufficiency from Melbourne, Australia

horticulturalhobbit

'obbitry of the horticultural kind

Leisa Rayven

Passionate stories for lovers of words

The Garden Smallholder

Growing Veg & Chicken Keeping in a Rural Back Garden

The Self Sufficient HomeAcre

One homemaker. One Acre. My quest for Self Sufficiency.

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Allotment & Simple Living in the Modern Day......Allotment Growing, Baking And More...

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

