The Mulberry Pickers

The weather in Brisbane is wonderful at the moment (31c degrees and sunny yesterday) and the mulberries are out.

I went to the farm yesterday morning to water my allotment and help other volunteers in the community garden when the word went round “the mulberries are out”.

The mulberry bush

The mulberry bush

I love harvesting vegetables that I have grown but there is something different and magical about foraging for ‘free’ fruit.  As we were picking the fruit it wasn’t hard to get Jo and Maria to give me a smile for the camera. Lovely to be out in the fresh air.

Jo and Maria picking mulberries

Jo and Maria picking mulberries

Maria and I will be making jam from the fruit on Sunday morning so I went home with our stash, trimmed the tiny storks from the top, rinsed the fruit and then popped them in the freezer. I’ll take them out on Saturday night so they can de-frost in the fridge ready for Sunday morning.

I picked up a little hint yesterday about washing these berries as the ripe ones might be quite fragile.  You don’t run them under a running tap.  Just put the berries in a container, fill it with water, gently strain off the water.  This fruit is not sprayed so that gentle rinse is  enough.

Happy Gardening

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christiglover
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:24:42

    “There is something different and magical about foraging for ‘free’ fruit” — yes, yes, yes! There truly is, Jean. I love the way you put it. We’re blackberrying here, and you’re right on about the rinsing. Happy jamming!

    Reply

  2. maria Goodwin
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:28:45

    Those ripe mulberries sure look delicious, Jean! We didn’t have a mulberry tree in my childhood home so I used to collect leaves from a mulberry tree on the footpath in the next street…for my ravenous silkworms! Lol I guess the neighborhood children also picked the fruit but can’t remember that…just the desperate need for the leaves for those silkworms who ‘lived’ in the shoebox in my bedroom! Lol

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

  3. MrsYub
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 18:41:18

    Oooooh! I LOVE mulberries!! My grandma used to have a huge mulberry tree in her back yard, and we children would come in purple with our chomping. I remember the taste with glee! I wish I could help you eat your jam!

    Reply

  4. narf77
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 04:51:36

    Another thing that weirds me out Jean…our mulberry trees haven’t even got leaves yet!!! 31C? Here it’s frigid again! I have a rug over my lap and just boosted the heck out of Brunhilda so that when Bezial comes out at 5.30am to keep me company (he’s a good dog :) ), he doesn’t freeze! People wearing shorts…are we in the same universe? Another hint from years of harvesting mulberries and having blue fingers is that the green mulberries rubbed onto the stains do a good job of removing the stains :). Lemon juice would probably do the same thing. Have fun with the jam making. I prefer my mulberries straight from the tree in the warm sun and consumed with gusto (extra protein in the form of insects is entirely up to the consumer ;) )

    Reply

  5. cathyandchucky
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:39:00

    Mulberry Jam :D Yummo! We used to head off to a location on the far side of the Inlet (Wilsons) where we lived in Denmark WA where there stood a really old and huge mulberry tree and Mum would send us kids up to pick them so she could make us lots of Jam for the season, oh and pies to serve hot with lashings of sweet custard. Foraged fruit tastes the sweetest :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 31,901 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

quarteracrelifestyle

The "Good Life" on a quarter acre, frugal living

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Gardener Jen

Trials, errors and joys of creating and maintaining my first garden.

Our Everyday Life in Pictures

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Exercising Septuagenarian

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

frugal feeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

The Next Stage

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

The Greening of Gavin

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Down to Earth

Growing vegetables on one small allotment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

